- - the real me

the real me is buried somewhere deep inside
it's not that I want to waste away or hide
it's just that I've gotten used to being denied
and somewhere along the way I've lost my pride

the real me is sorry for letting me down
it's not that I want to be the talk of the town
it just seems easier to be seen as a clown
than to walk around wearing a tired old frown

and it's not that I'm sad about being myself
I have more fun with me than with anyone else
it's just that I've been burned by trusting before
and I don't know if I want to trust anymore

the real me is angry with the human race
I don't understand why you keep up the pace
and I don't share the values for things that you chase
your way is not my way to a state of grace

and I don't want to fight or debate
I don't want to critique or hate
I don't pretend I know anyone's fate
I don't want to believe it's too late
to find a lover a friend and a mate
but I hesitate
and I wait
for someone in my mental state
call me an ingrate
when you pass your plate
but I don't want to pay for a date

I believe in freedom
I believe in love
I don't need to believe
in heavens above
or in hells down below
to be good and kind
the choice is always
in my heart and mind
if you don't see that
you must be blind
or afraid of the responsibility
of choosing how to be
what to do?
who are you?
are you cruel or kind?

the real me is buried under yesterday
though I do my best to live in the today
no one seems to want to seem things my way
so sometimes I wonder why I stay

living mostly dead
sleeping in my head
hoping in my heart
crying

wake me up inside
how much has not died
this is where we start
hoping in my heart


the real me is wasting away
I don't know what more I can say
the real me is lonely today
won't someone come out to play?

previous ����� - ����� next






leave a note
send an email
the cemetary
lastest last gasp

back up - go ahead

living dead

bury your dead